Governor Appointments Update

Governor’s Appointments Pass Senate Oversight Committee


The Kansas Senate Oversight Committee Monday approved Dr. DeAngela Burns-Wallace, Shawnee, to serve as Secretary of the Kansas Department of Administration and Herman Jones, Berryton, as Superintendent of the Kansas Highway Patrol, along with other appointments to state boards and agencies.


“I appreciate the Senate committee’s action in approving the appointments of Kansans who are all well qualified and committed to public service,” Governor Laura Kelly said. “It’s truly an outstanding group, and I look forward to seeing the work they do in helping to move our state forward.”


Burns-Wallace was the Vice-Provost of Undergraduate Studies at the University of Kansas, and also served as the assistant dean in the Office of Undergraduate Admission at Stanford University.


Before working in education, Burns-Wallace worked for the U.S. Department of State as a management officer in the foreign service in China, South Africa and Washington D.C., experience she says helped prepare her for her new role at the Department of Administration.


“Managing a foreign mission for the U.S. government is a complex set of challenges that touch on logistics, construction, budgeting, HR – these issues also line up closely to the mission of the Department of Administration,” Burns-Wallace said. “I’m excited to start working on some of these issues for the State of Kansas.”


Burns-Wallace holds a dual bachelor’s degree in international relations and African American studies from Stanford University, a master’s degree in public affairs from the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University, and a doctorate in education from the University of Pennsylvania.

Herman Jones began his law enforcement career as a police officer with the Emporia Police Department. He then served as a state trooper with the Kansas Highway Patrol from 1982 to 1992. Later, he was an instructor at the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center.

He returned to the Kansas Highway Patrol as the director of administration from 2000 to 2011. In 2011, he became Undersheriff of Shawnee County, and later was appointed Shawnee County Sheriff in April 2012, elected in November 2012 and re-elected in 2016.

Jones is a graduate of Emporia State University, the Federal Bureau of Investigation National Academy, the Kansas Highway Patrol Academy, and the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center.

“I’m honored to be Governor Kelly’s choice to serve in this important law enforcement position,” Jones said. “I’ve dedicated my career to public safety and take great pride in working with the men and women of the Kansas Highway Patrol to strengthen our agency and improve public safety across Kansas.”

Additionally, the following appointments by the governor were approved Monday by the Senate Confirmation Oversight Committee:


  • Cheryl Harrison-Lee, Gardner, Shellaine (Shelly) Kiblinger, Cherryvale, and Jonathan Rolph, Wichita; Kansas Board of Regents


  • Emily Hill, Lawrence, Kansas Public Employees Retirement System Board of Trustees


  • Earl Lewis, Topeka, director, Kansas Water Office


  • Constance Owen, Overland Park, chair, Kansas Water Authority


  • Joni Franklin, Wichita, Jonathan Gilbert, Dodge City, and Michael Ryan, Junction City; Public Employee Relations Board


  • Doug Jorgensen, Topeka, State Fire Marshal


  • Kelly Kultala, Basehor, Kansas Racing and Gaming Commission


  • Kala Loomis, Lawrence, executive director, Kansas State Gaming Agency


  • Stephen Durrell, Lawrence, executive director, Kansas Lottery


  • Catherine Moyer, Ulysses, and Kenneth (Ed) Trimmer, Winfield; Kansas Lottery Commission


The appointments approved Monday by the Senate Oversight Committee will be voted on by the full Senate in the 2020 Legislative Session.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *