FSCC to recognize veterans, Honor Society students

Submitted by Fort Scott Community College

Veterans Day Events

In honor of Veterans Day, Fort Scott Community College will host a Veterans Day Walk at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, November 11, at the FSCC Lake, 2108 South Horton Street in Fort Scott.


“We welcome students, faculty, staff and community members to walk a lap or more around the lake to honor past and present veterans,” said Robert Goltra, FSCC Vice President of Students.

FSCC President’s Ambassadors will walk continuously from 10:00 to 11:00 a.m. for those who are unable. Free coffee and donuts will be served to event attendees.

Additionally, FSCC will display photos of veterans on its Veterans Wall of Honor beginning Monday, November 7. The Wall of Honor will be located in Bailey Hall on the FSCC Campus. Community members are encouraged to bring photos for the display to the FSCC Student Services office, also located in Bailey Hall. Photos may be retrieved in the afternoon on Friday, November 11.

For more information, please call Robert Goltra at 620-223-2700, ext. 3500.

Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony

On Friday, November 11, The Fort Scott Community College Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (Alpha Theta Omega Chapter) will induct 44 new students during a candle-lighting ceremony. The ceremony will begin at 3:00 p.m. at the Danny & Willa Ellis Family Fine Arts Center, located at 2108 South Horton in Fort Scott.

“As the new advisor of Phi Theta Kappa here at Fort Scott Community College, I am looking forward to the upcoming year,” said Susie Arvidson, FSCC Director of Library Services and Phi Theta Kappa Advisor. “The students are excited to begin planning events involving local and regional fellowship, as well as local service activities. My hope is that the students will be wonderful role models for future members, have a great time serving others and add to their own experiences.”

The fall 2016 inductees are: William Baker, Jacob Blevins, Bailie Brown, Sirena Bruner, Theodore Chambers, Maddison Christian, Reba Colin, Cara Comstock, Ashlee Corns, Chelsea Cox, Zachary Gudenkauf, Meghan Guss, James Harrison, Shelby Hutchison, Michael Jenkins, Kevin Land II, Kady LaPorte, Justin Logan, Ryan Malone, Samantha Milburn, Jackalynn Neher, Jennah  Ohlde, Merecedes Pankau, Lindy Pettibon, Taylor Remington, Jada Robinson, Matthew Schick, Taylor Schilling, Cody Schlesener, Kim Schwab, Ashlee Setina, Dacey Simpson, Aubrey Smith, Elizabeth Staton-Johnson, Grant Swickhamer, Sarah Townsend, Michalyn Trimble, Mackenzie Tynon, Emily White, Harrison Whitworth and Mackay Williams.

Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society, recognizes the academic achievements of two-year college students. The honor society focuses on four hallmarks at the local, regional and international levels: leadership, service, scholarship and fellowship. Students who have completed 12 credit hours and earned a 3.5 GPA or higher are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa.

For more information, please call Susie Arvidson at 620-223-2700, ext. 3441.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *