Rodeo! At Bourbon County Fair Starts Today

It’s that time of year, spending time with family, friends, and neighbors at the Bourbon County Fair.
The fair showcases talents, and provides entertainment, and offers local products to buy. Local entertainers will be featured at the final event on Saturday night.
This year’s Bourbon County Fair starts this tonight at the fairgrounds located on south Horton Street, across from Fort Scott Community College.
“The rodeo starts Friday, July 9th (at 8 p.m.) and events continue clear till Saturday, July 17th,” Diane Brillhart, treasurer of the fair board, said.
Adult tickets to the rodeo are $12, kids six-years-old and up $7 and kids under 6 are free.

New this year is ‘Christmas at the Fair,'” she said. “Retail booths will be set up in the Merchant’s Building Monday through Friday from 4-9 p.m.  We have a great assortment of items.”

Hands-on activities will be happening in the 4-H Building, sponsored by Southwind K-State Extension, the Museum of Creativity, and the Bourbon County Conservation District.
A Decluttering Program by Starlite FCE, led by Glenda Miller, Karen Peery, and Terri Williams, will be presented Wednesday, 2 p.m., at the Myers Building.
Food trucks will be onsite opening at 10:30  a.m. each day.  Breakfast will be available in the 4-H Building 7-9:30 a.m.
“We are having the Fair Finale on Saturday, July 17th,” Brillhart said. “D.J. Brown and the Bourbon County Revival along with The Barnstormers will be providing a great night of entertainment.”
  Gates open at 6 p.m. and music will start at about 7 p.m.  Tickets are $5.
In addition, there will be food trucks and refreshments available, she said.
Continuing this year is the draft horse pull on Tuesday, July 13 at 7:30 p.m. and the 4-H Dance and Cornhole Tournament, Thursday, July 15.
“Ben Cole, the voice of the Bourbon County Fair, will be announcing our Market Livestock Shows,” Brillhart said.
A goat show at the Bourbon County Fair in 2017.

Bourbon County Fair Board Officers are President Dale Griffiths; Vice-President Mark Crystal ; Secretary Lynda Foster; Assistant Secretary Sue Reinecke;  Treasurer Diane Brillhart;  Assistant Treasurer Mark Brillhart; Grandstand Superintendent Stewart Gulager and  Assistant Grandstand Superintendent Bobby Reed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *