Bike Share Coming To Fort Scott

Courtesy photo. New bikes stand at the Bike Share spot at the Fort Scott Chamber of Commerce office.
Bike Share is coming soon to Fort Scott, in fact, the bikes are here!
“It all started with a group of us visiting Thrive Allen County’s Bike Share program and deciding the Fort Scott Chamber of Commerce would take it on under their wing,” Jody Hoener, Mercy Hospital Clinic Quality and Community Benefit Liaison, said.

” Lindsay Madison (Executive Director of the Chamber) has done an exceptional job coordinating it all.”
The bikes are made possible through a grant from Blue Cross/Blue Shield Kansas Insurance.
For more information about this $500,000 grant awarded to the Bourbon County Action Team click here:
Allen County Bike Share is a free program that allows people to borrow bikes to explore the streets and trails of our communities, according to its website.
To learn more about the Thrive Allen County Bike Share, click here:
The bikes in Fort Scott will be available at spots around the city.
The bike pick-up spots will be the Chamber office, 321 E. Wall and Peerless Products Inc., 2403 S. Main.
“Then we need to decide the other spots,” Hoener said. “There were several community members who are also part of Gunn Park Volunteers who joined us originally.”
Courtesy photo. Frank Halsey backs up a bike into his company trailer to bring all the newly purchased bikes to Fort Scott Tuesday. Halsey is an avid mountain biker and is president of Mid-Continental Restoration Co. Fort Scott.
Frank Halsey, who has spearheaded creating new bike trails in the community with others in the Gunn Park Volunteers, has been a part of the effort.

Courtesy photo. Frank Halsey, Gunn Park Volunteers, Jody Hoener,  and Lindsay Madison, Fort Scott Chamber of Commerce.
Hoener, Madison, and Halsey picked up the bikes May 1 from Velo+ Bicycle Shop in Iola.
Courtesy photo. Lindsay Madison, Frank Halsey, and Jody Hoener packing the bikes in the trailer for transport from Iola to Fort Scott.
“The Healthy Bourbon County Action Team participated in bringing the bike share program here and paid for 10 bikes,” Hoener said. “Peerless is going to take two of them at that end of town!”
Members of the Healthy Bourbon County Action Team are:
Reta Baker, Sherise Beckham, Craig Campbell, Alice Maffet, Rachel Pruitt, David Martin, Alysia Johnston, Madison, Joy Miller, Kathy McEwan, Mark McCoy, Rhonda Hoener, Pam Brown, Janet Braun, Rhonda Dunn, Dr. Randy Nichols,  and Hoener.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *