Area Foundation Gifts Local Causes With Grants

Twenty-six recipients of the Fort Scott Area Community Foundation  were presented checks to further their projects during the annual award ceremony on Oct. 26 at Landmark Bank.

Fort Scott Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Lindsay Madison welcomed those attending.

“We are so thankful for the foundation starting in 2007,” she said. “This year 26 recipients were granted $53,500 in awards.”

Before the ceremony, the Mercy Fort Scott Hospital Foundation Board, comprised of Bryan Holt, Marci Smith and Jared Leek presented a $250,000 check to the FSACF. The board closed out the foundation with this last distribution to be used for future health care needs in the community. Mercy Hospital Fort Scott closed its doors in December 2018.

Carla Farmer, FSACF Board Member, also presented $299, 446 to FSACF from the John and Pat Neff annuity that was originally for the Mercy Foundation, but was transferred to FSACF.

Patricia Neff. Submitted photo.

The Sisters of Mercy had assisted the Neffs in adopting  two children and had wanted to give back, so they created an annuity that paid them until they died, then the funds went to the Mercy Foundation. Mrs. Neff died three months ago.

FSACF Chairman Craig Campbell sent more information, following the ceremony, on  the First Christian Church of Ft. Scott Endowment Fund, which contributed over $12,000 toward this fall’s grantees.

When the First Christian Church closed, a foundation was formed to provide grants to support local needs for years to come.

The following are grants this year selected by the First Christian Church Endowment board:
Riverfront Authority Labyrinth
Methodist Church Feeding Families
Fort Scott Compassionate Ministries
USD 234 Preschool Center Community Involvement
USD 234 Healthy Snacks

The following are the recipients and what they received the grant for:

Photos were unavailable for the following :

Bourbon County CASA received a grant to provide training and support for the organizations volunteers.

Ronda Hassig, from the Lowell Milken Center,  received a grant to invest in a high-powered telescope to bring the universe closer to the community.

From left: Becky Tourtillott,Bonnie Milburn,Craig Campbell, and Jean Tucker.

Feeding Families In His Name Ministry feeds free meals to 450 people each Wednesday from the Fort Scott First United Methodist Church. Bonnie Milburn is the coordinator, who received the check along with Jean Tucker.

Lacy Nicholson and Craig Campbell.

Fostering Connections helps with integrating children into adoptive families by providing resources for them. Lacy Nicholson accepted the check.

Fort Scott Teacher Linda Minor, left with FSACF Chairman Craig Campbell.

Linda Minor accepted a check for USD234 students, who will be receiving snacks for those who don’t have the resources to invest in healthy food.

Stephanie George and Craig Campbell.

Fort Scott Middle School Teacher Stephanie George received a grant to take students to the Nutcracker Ballet in Kansas City.

Lewis Dunkeson,Winter Moore and Craig Campbell.

Communities in School is a nation-wide program to provide support for struggling youth in Fort Scott Middle and High School. Accepting the check was Lewis Dunkeson and Winter Moore.

Seth Needham and Craig Campbell.

Cubmaster Seth Needham accepted the check for the local Cub Scout program to support recruiting efforts.

John Crain, left, and Craig Campbell.

The Fort Scott Kiwanis Club received a grant to continue planting trees in the community, represented by John Crain.

Becky Tourtillot, Craig Campbell and  Gregg Motley.

USD 235 teacher Jeff Feagins received a grant to upgrade the computer lab in his classroom, with Gregg Motley accepting the check for Feagins.

Jennifer Terrell  and Craig Campbell

Jennifer Terrell received a check for Kansas State’s Southwind Extension to engage youth in the art of cooking.

Larry Amer and Craig Campbell.

USD 234 teacher Larry Amer received a grant for the Empty Bowls program which combines art, function and self-sustaining fundraising for students.

Nick Johnson and Craig Campbell.

Fort Scott Preschool Principal Nick Johnson received a grant to provide engagement activities that hopes to involve teachers and families.

Vickie Wright, Kerry Pommier, Janderon Loyd and Craig Campbell.

Southeast Kansas Mental Health received a grant to bring expertise and resources to the USD 234 school district. Accepting the check was Vickie Wright, Kerry Pommier and Janderon Loyd.

Josh Jones, Bailey Lyons and Craig Campbell.

Josh Jones and Bailey Lyons accepted a check for the purpose of a future splash pad for children in Fort Scott.

Stacy Bishop, Holli Mason, Becca Clay and Craig Campbell.

Fort Scott Community College received a grant to support students who are first in their family to attend and graduate from college. Accepting the grant for FSCC was Stacy Bishop, Holli Mason and Becca Clay.

Allen Schellack and Craig Campbell.

Fort Scott Compassionate Ministries Executive Director Allen Schellack received a grant to help the immediate and acute needs of families in our community.

Joe O’Rourke and Craig Campbell.

Joe O’Rourke accepted a check for Tri-Valley Development Services for purchase of an electric sit-to-stand machine to aid residents and caregivers.

Autumn Durrosette, Robin Webb and Craig Campbell.

Autumn Durrosette and Robin Webb, USD 234 First Grade Teachers, received a grant to provide a life science natural habitat.

Tom Havron and Craig Campbell.

Tom Havron, representing Fort Scott Community College, received a grant to display school memorabilia in display cases and shelves.

Erin Fletcher and Craig Campbell.

Erin Fletcher, representing Special Olympics, received a grant for equipment and uniforms.

Nicolle Pellet and Michelle Brittain with Craig Campbell.

USD 234 received a grant to study Edgar Allen Poe in an electronic classroom experience. Representing the school district in receiving the grant was  teachers Nicolle Pellet and Michelle Brittain.

Cristin Stark and Craig Campbell.

USD 234 Teacher Cristin Start will lead students on a historical walking tour of Fort Scott with a grant received.

Jerry Witt and Craig Campbell.

Jerry Witt, representing the Riverfront Authority, received a grant to fund a walking labyrinth dedicated to the memory of the late Allen Warren.

From left Becky Tourtillott, Debbie Potter, Craig Campbell and Greg Post.

The City of Mapleton received a grant for a community defibrillator, along with training to a number of residents on the equipment. Accepting the check was Debbie Potter and Greg Post.

Jackson Tough, Janice Fewins, Becky Tourtillott, Kirk Sharp and Craig Campbell.

The Gordon Parks Museum received a grant for interactive touch screen displays from the foundation. Receiving the grant are board members Jackson Tough, Janice Fewins, Becky Tourtillott and Kirk Sharp.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *