News Release of the July 8 U234 Board of Education Meeting



Monday, July 8, 2024


Members of the USD 234 Board of Education met at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, July 8, 2024, for their regular monthly meeting at the board office.


President David Stewart opened the meeting.


The Board voted for David Stewart to remain as Board President and Stewart Gulager to remain Board Vice-President.


The board approved the official agenda and the consent agenda as follows:

Board Minutes

06/03/24 Minutes

06/10/24 Board Minutes

Financials – Cash Flow Report

Check Register

Payroll – June 20, 2024 -$2,128,270.84

Activity Funds Accounts

USD 234 Gifts

Appoint Terry Mayfield as Deputy Board Clerk

HS Extended Trip Forms 24-25

HS Fundraising Applications 24-25

Resolution 24-01 – Destruction of Records

Resolution 24-02 – Waiver of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles

Resolution 24-03 – Rescinding Policy Statements found in Board Minutes

Resolution 24-04 – Establish Home Rule by Board of Education

Designation of Banks for deposit of school funds

Set fees for copying records

10 cents per page for employees

10 cents per page for alumni

15 cents per page for non-employees

20 cents per page for color copies

Mileage reimbursement – current state mileage rate

For information only – as of 07/01/24 – 67 cents

2024-25 School Fees

Recreation Commission Board Member Term

Designation of newspaper for official school publications – Fort Scott Tribune

Offices for the 2024-25 School Year

KASB Government Relations Network Representative – Board President

Food Service Hearing Officer/Compliance Coordinator for Federal

Anti-Discrimination Laws – Terry Mayfield

Title VI, Title VII, and Title IX of the Civil Rights Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act/Coordinator/Point of Contact for Child – Destry Brown

Welfare Agencies/District Foster Care Liaison/Freedom of Information Officer – Haley Jones

Food Service Program Representative – Robin Button

Clerk – Candace Jobe

KPERS Representative/KiCS Designated Representative Member – Angela Robinson

Treasurer – Rhonda Dawson

LCP Coordinator/Coordinator for Homeless Children/ 504 Coordinator – Destry Brown

Fort Scott High School Attendance Officer – Jeff Johnson

Fort Scott Middle School Attendance Officer – Matt Harris

Eugene Ware Attendance Officer – Brandon Boyd

Winfield Scott Attendance Officer – Nicole Gilmore

Bourbon County Ready Board – vacant

June 2024 KASB Policy Updates


Superintendent Destry Brown reported on the SAFE Schools grant that will help update security cameras, district radios, and provide additional AEDs. Also, he clarified information about the new Preschool Building.

Assistant Superintendent Terry Mayfield updated the board on cross training and job descriptions within the district office. He explained the processes for his position and how he planned to bring information to the Board in the future. Lastly, he gave an update about closing the 23-24 school year budget.

Tonya Barnes, Special Education Director, reported on finances coming in for the upcoming school year. She explained about updating Special Education manuals that need to

be completed this next year


The board approved the following items:

  • Workers Compensation Renewal 2024-25
  • KiCS Property, Casualty, Insurance 2024-25
  • 2024-25 Emergency Operations Procedures
  • Dates set for Budget Presentation, Revenue Neutral Hearing & Budget Hearing
  • Resolution 24-05 Revenue Neutral Declaration to the Bourbon County Clerk
  • ERate Order


There was none present for public forum.


The board went into executive session for negotiations/salary discussions.


The board went into an executive session for personnel matters.


President Stewart adjourned the meeting





July 8, 2024




Colvin, Angela – Resignation – Paraprofessional – Middle School

Geneva, Nancy – Resignation – Food Service

Wilson, Kerrie – Resignation – Receptionist/District Admin Assistant – Board Office




Dawson, Jamie – School Psychologist Para

Endicott, Jencyn – Preschool Para



Certified Recommendations for the 2024-25 school year:


Rainey, Taylor – Special Education Teacher – KRI

Stewart, Mya – .5 Speech Para & .5 OT Para


Classified Recommendations for the 2024-25 school year:


Matkin, Tammy -Receptionist/District Admin Assistant – Board Office

Thurston, Jordan – Paraprofessional – Winfield Scott











Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *