Local Republicans Gather to Select A New District One Commissioner on April 16

The Bourbon County Commission room, at the courthouse.

On Tuesday, April 16 at the Ft Scott Livestock Market, 2131 Maple Rd, the local Republican party will convene to nominate a replacement for Bourbon County  District 1 Commissioner Nelson Blythe who resigned on April 1, according to a press release from Deb Martin, Bourbon County Republican Secretary.

Blythe said he intends to run for Bourbon County Sheriff, according to the Bourbon County Commission Minutes of April 1.

Nelson Blythe resigned as Bourbon County District 1 Commissioner on April 1.

Only District 1 Precinctmen and  Women will vote on this appointment, according to the press release.

The voting precinct men and women of District 1 are as follows:
 Marion:  Brent Smith  and  Nancy Holt
 Franklin:  Tony Bradbury and Kaity Bradbury
Timberhill:  Dan Laughlin and Jan Laughlin
Millcreek:  Michael Keyes and Debra Martin
North Scott:  Bill Lalman and Glenda Lalman
Marmaton:  Charles Robinson and CJ Robinson
“April 16th we will meet at Ft. Scott livestock market, 2131 Maple Road 6:30 p.m.” Mark McCoy, chairman of the local Republican party, said. “The meeting will start open to the public for introductions of the Individuals wishing to be considered to fill the open 1st district commissioner position.”
Then each candidate will have up to three minutes to introduce themselves and why they should be chosen.  The closed
portion of the meeting begins immediately following that introduction.
Each candidate will speak to the precinct people individually with a brief question and answer period, McCoy said.
“After all candidates have completed this portion we will discuss candidates and precinct people will vote,” he said.
Interested Republican residents of Bourbon County District 1 seeking to fill the county commission seat vacated by Nelson Blythe should send a letter stating their interest with reasons why they should be selected to:  Mark McCoy, Chairman, email [email protected] or by postal mail to Mark McCoy, 2138 Jayhawk Rd, Ft Scott, KS  66701 by Thursday, April 11, 2024 by days end.
“When the individual resigns, they submit a resignation letter to me and the Governor’s office and I submit the resignation letter to the Chairperson of whatever party they are affiliated with,” said Jennifer Hawkins, Bourbon County Clerk. “The political party then has 21 days to appoint a replacement and send notice of the replacement to the Governor’s office. The Governor’s office will send a certificate of appointment to the replacement who would need to file a copy of the certificate in the Clerk’s office before they can perform any duties as Commissioner.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *