Kansas Photojournalism Hall of Fame inducts Parks

A panel in the Gordon Parks Museum.

 Fort Scott native Gordon Parks was among a dozen photographers inducted by the Kansas Press Association into the Kansas Photojournalism Hall of Fame during a ceremony recently in Topeka.

As a member of the inaugural class, Parks joins Rich Clarkson, Carl Davaz, Jeff Jacobsen, Chris Johns, Brian Lanker, Sandra Milburn, Jim Richardson, Charlie Riedel, Gary Settle, Pete Souza and Bill Snead in the newly minted hall of fame.

Kirk Sharp, executive director of the Gordon Parks Museum in Fort Scott, was asked by Parks’ son, David, to represent the family in accepting the award, which the family entrusted to the museum.

“It was an honor and a privilege to not only represent the family and to accept the award, but to also have the award on display in our museum for visitors to see,” Sharp said.

Ella Parks and Charles Cooksey, greatniece and nephew of Gordon Parks, were also in attendance at the ceremonial banquet Nov. 19 at the Beacon Building.


Contact Name: Kirk Sharp
Phone: 6202232700, ext. 5850

Email: [email protected] 

Website: gordonparkscenter.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *