FSHS Thespian Troupe #7365 Receives State Honors

Historian Cooper George with the KS Gold Honor Troupe Award. Submitted photo.


The Fort Scott High School Thespian Troupe #7365 attended the KS State Thespian Festival on Jan. 5-7 in Wichita, KS and received a number of honors.


The troupe received the highest honor a troupe can receive, the Gold Honor Troupe Award, for the seventh consecutive year. The honor reflects the performances, community involvement, student leadership, and high standards a troupe achieves throughout the year. Troupe Historian Cooper George, a sophomore, created the honor troupe presentation that earned the award.

Kinsley Davis and Regen Wells received Superior ratings in Monologue qualifying them for the International Thespian Festival in June. Submitted photo.


Senior Kinsley Davis and Junior Regen Wells both received a Superior rating on their Monologue performances. This qualifies them to compete in the International Thespian Festival at Indiana University in June. Other students who competed in Individual Thespy Performance events include: sophomores Mykael Lewis and Kaiden Clary in Duet Acting, senior Karen Primeaux and junior Josiah Eisenbrandt in Duet Acting, freshman Chris Newman with Monologue, freshman Junie Fisher in Vocal Solo, juniors Lexi Hill and Casey Gomez in Vocal Solo, sophomore Emma Guns and junior Jaedyn Lewis in Duet Acting, sophomore Alyssa Popp in Playwriting, senior Luke Majors in Vocal Solo, and junior Jericho Jones with Monologue.


For the second year in a row, FSHS had a team advance to the Finals Round of Competitive Improvisational Acting. The team included Majors, Hill, Wells, Eisenbrandt, and Mykael Lewis.


The Advanced Drama class competed in the One-Act Play category with the play “There is No Play” by Arthur M. Jolly. The performance was the world premiere of the one-act and the class was able to video conference with Jolly from Los Angeles and workshop the play as they rehearsed. This original cast will be published in the printed version of the script set for publication in the near future.

Thespian Director Angie Bin also received the Director of the Year Award for Southeast KS. Submitted photo.


In addition to performing, the troupe experienced three days of workshops with professional actors and theatre technicians, main stage musical and play performances, meetings with colleges and performing arts conservatories, and fellowship with Thespians from schools across the state.


# # #



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *