CHC Awarded $1Million For Regional Transportation Facility for SEK 

Governor Laura Kelly Announces $13.2 Million Awarded for Public Transit Projects Across Kansas

SALINA – Governor Laura Kelly, joined by Federal Transit Administration (FTA) Administrator Nuria Fernandez and Kansas Transportation Secretary Julie Lorenz, announced $13.2 million will go toward 48 public transit projects across the state.

“A strong, safe public transportation system is critical to our state’s economy and quality of life,” Governor Laura Kelly said. “Projects like wheelchair accessible busses, upgraded bus facilities, and route and parking lot enhancements will ensure Kansans have access to adequate, safe, and well-maintained public transportation.”

That money will go to 26 transit agencies as part of the Access, Innovation, and Collaboration (AIC) Public Transit Program.

 The announcement took place at the OCCK, Inc., Transportation complex in Salina in an expanded bus facility funded by the Kansas Department of Transportation and an FTA grant, with support from the City of Salina and OCCK. The 16,000 square-foot expansion was completed in November 2021.

“This work reflects the tremendous partnership between all levels of government,” FTA Administrator Fernandezsaid. “In addition to funding new bus facilities and improving transit service, the grants support the purchase of low- or no-emission buses. That work throughout Kansas will accelerate the transition to cleaner, more efficient transportation system, and help keep our skies blue, our water clean and our climate more predictable by reducing greenhouse gas emissions.”

Both urban and rural transit providers receive support from the AIC program, which will improve transit access and services for Kansans. The projects have a total cost of about $17M, with the AIC program providing about $13M ($2M state, $11M federal) of the funds.

In the first two years of the AIC program, KDOT will have awarded $21 million in funding for a total project cost of $26 million.

“The AIC Public Transit Program combines state and federal resources that will enhance access to transit, invest in emerging technologies and form collaborations with public and private transportation providers,” Secretary Lorenz said. “I’m proud of the partnerships we’ve established to improve transportation services and options for Kansans.”

Project types include constructing bus maintenance facilities to aid in fleet management, upgraded transit accessibility following the Americans with Disabilities Act, advanced technologies, and expanded low emissions transit operations.

A map of AIC Transit projects can be found here.
Below, is a list of the AIC Kansas 2022 Selected Projects:

Access, Innovation and Collaboration Kansas 2022 Selected Projects

Project Sponsor

Project Title


Butler County Department on Aging

Technology Upgrade


Community Health Center (CHC) – Southeast Kansas (SEK) in Crawford County

Regional Transportation Facility for SEK


City of Liberal

Transit Program Signage


City of Wilson

Bus Facility


Clay County Task Force

New Bus for Clay County


COF Training Services, Inc. in Franklin County

2021 Bus Replacement


Coffey County Transportation

Bus and Bus Facility Improvements


Developmental Services of Northwest Kansas, Inc. (DSNWK) in Ellis County

8-Passenger Bus w/ 4-Wheelchair Capacity


Building & Equipment Updates


Flint Hills Area Transportation Agency (FHATA) – serving Riley, Pottawatomie and Geary counties

Safety & Security Upgrades to FHATA Facility


Covered Bus Parking Lot at the FHATA Facility


Junction City Regional Transit Facility


K-18 Connector Expansion


Junction City Fixed Route Bridge Funding


Real Time Passenger Information Devices


Microtransit Study


Zero Emissions Vehicle Study


Futures Unlimited – Sumner County

Transportation Facility Renovation


Hetlinger Developmental Services – Lyon County

Three-Stall Bus Barn


Johnson County Transit

EV Micro Transit Service


Technology Improvements for RideKC


Lawrence Transit

Equitable & Accessible Bus Stops


Multimodal Transfer Facility Elements


Microtransit Pilot


Zero-Emissions Transition Plan


Technology, Accessibility and Branding Enhancements


Lyon County Transportation (LCAT)

Security Camera Expansion


Leavenworth County

Secure Parking Area for Transit Vehicles


Morris County

Public Transportation Facility


Northeast Kansas Area Agency on Aging – Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Jackson, Marshall, Nemaha and Washington counties

Clean Technology Expansion


OCCK, Inc. – Saline, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Cloud, Ottawa, Republic, Mitchel, Jewell and Lincoln counties

Mobility Hubs & Stop Improvement


Second Floor Renovation


81 Connection Expansion (Saturdays)


CityGo+ – Microtransit Pilot in Salina


Fixed Route Enhancements – Software & Bus Equipment


Osage County

New Vehicles


Rooks County

Bus Garage Project


Sedgwick County Department on Aging

Vehicle Camera Systems


Southeast Kansas Community Action Program (SEK-CAP) – Crawford and Neosho counties

Innovative Scheduling


Solomon Valley Transportation – Jewell, Mitchell and Osborne counties

Building Project


The Guidance Center – Leavenworth

Transit Technology Implementation


Unified Government Transit

Bus Facility Modernization


Fleet Modernization


Paratransit Software Enhancements


Accident Incident Management System


Micro Transit Expansion


Non-Emergency Medical Transportation Pilot Program


Wabaunsee County

Fleet Expansion and Barriers


Total: $13,213,156


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *