American Legion Post 25 Awards

At the recently concluded Department of Kansas Convention this last weekend, Post 25 received five awards. 
Submitted by Carl Jowers
Post 25 received the Kenneth L Young Membership Award for having the highest membership percentage in the Department of Kansas  by February 1, 2019. Our percentage at that date was 131.37. We currently stand at 157% as of last Friday.
Another award that Post 25 received was the Team 100 Post Excellence Award. Only two Kansas Posts received this award signed by National Legion Commander Brett Reistad. This award is for Posts that have taken the time to conduct programs in their local community that displays their “Devotion to Mutual Helpfulness.” This is the second year in a row that Thompson-Harkey Post 25 has received this award.
I received the Post Commander of the Year Award as Post 25 had the highest membership percentage in the state plus, thanks to Adjutant Ken Lyon, all required paperwork was submitted to Department by the due date.
We also received the 100% Post Reporting Award for submitting all required reports by the due date. This award was made possible by Adjutant Ken Lyon diligently staying on top of required reports and their due dates.
Another award was in recognition for the chartering of Sons of the American Legion Squadron 25
When I came up to the dais to accept the Membership Award, the Department Commander stated to the members in attendance that just a few years ago Fort Scott had been written off as a Post on the verge of extinction, but has made a tremendous comeback. All Post 25 members should  know that had it not been for Ken Lyon, Post 25 would have turned in its charter a few years back. Ken found a member, Arnold Schofield, to step up as Post Commander and keep the Post alive until a new generation of Legionnaires could be recruited to revitalize Post 25.  The torch has been passed. It is now up to us to continue making Post 25 a viable community asset through programs for Veterans and children and youth.
Additional Convention Notes:
The new Department Commander is Chuck Shoemaker, Shawnee Post
The new Department Vice Commander is Marri Krupco, Blue Mound Post.
The new 2nd District Vice Commander is Myra Jowers of our own Fort Scott Post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *