FSHS Thespian Troupe members attending the 2020 KS State Thespian Festival. Left to right, top row – Angie Bin, Tailynn Harding, Jacob Ham, Italeigh Harding, Sierra Long, Amber Russo, Wendy Monahan, Christina King, Levi Bin, Daniel Watson. Second row – Carlee Studyvin, Alexis Williams, Israel Carreno, Kaitlyn Leavell, Olivia Wilterding, Tina Ramirez, Montana Laroche, Mackenzie Peoples, Avery Dorsey, and Justin Stevens. Bottom row (Thespian Officers) – Ashanti Green, Zaria Byrd, Alexa Bukowski, Dominic Cannon, Mesa Jones, and Sage Hill. Submitted photo.

The Fort Scott High School Thespian Troupe #7365 held it’s 3rd Annual Golden Thespie Awards Banquet on May 4.


This year’s banquet was quite different, as it was held over a virtual Zoom call. Current Thespian Officers and Thespian Director Angie Bin made the presentations. Officers include Vice President Sage Hill, Historian Alexa Bukowski, Publicity Chair Zaria Byrd, and State Representatives Jenna Stockstill and Ashanti Green.


The troupe recognized Thespians who performed at the KS State Thespian Festival in January including Mackenzie Peoples – Musical Solo, Amber Russo & Wendy Monahan – Duet Acting, Tina Ramirez – Musical Solo, and Dominic Cannon and Sage Hill – Duet Acting. Special recognition went to the following students who received Superior Ratings at State and will perform in the Virtual International Thespian Festival in June: Ashanti Green – Monologue, Mesa Jones – Musical Solo and Jenna Stockstill – Musical Solo. The troupe was also recognized for receiving the highest state honor a troupe can receive, the Gold Honor Troupe Award given for performance, public service, community involvement, and troupe organization. This is the fourth year in a row that Fort Scott has received the Gold Honor.


The FSHS Thespian Improv Troupe was recognized for participating in Operation Show this year at the Westport Coffee House Theatre in Kansas City, MO under the direction of Mark Bergmann. These students studied improvisational comedy with professional actors and performed for a public audience along with other students from around the KC area. They include Daniel Watson, Kaitlyn Leavell, Justin Stevens, Lola Umarova, Jo Goodbody, Dominic Cannon, Wendy Monahan, Tina Ramirez, Sierra Long, Anthony Russo, and Improv Troupe Captain Amber Russo.


To letter in Theatre, students must participate in both main stage productions (cast or crew), participate in 6 theatre-related fundraisers, activities, or community service projects, and be in good academic standing. First year letters went to Israel Carreno, Kinsley Davis, Bareigh Farrell, Ashanti Green, Jacob Ham, Christina King, Luke Majors, Khris Patel, and Olivia Wilterding. Second year bars were awarded to Alexa Bukowski, Zaria Byrd, Avery Dorsey, Gabriel Graham, Tailynn Harding, Sage Hill, Mesa Jones, Wendy Monahan, Amber Russo, Jenna Stockstill, Carlee Studyvin, and Alexis Williams.


The highlight of the banquet is the awarding of the Golden Thespies. These are awards voted on by the troupe members. Honors went to the following: Most Involved – Alexa Bukowski, Drama Mama (someone who helps out everyone else) – Zaria Byrd, Drama Papa – Jacob Ham, Newcomer of the Year – Kinsley Davis, Designer of the Year – Amber Russo for lighting design, Techie of the Year – Jacob Ham for Stage Management, Dancer of the Year – Addy Labbe, Singer of the Year – Mesa Jones, Actor of the Year – Sage Hill, Actress of the Year – Ashanti Green, and Triple Threat (best overall singer, dancer, and actor) – Mesa Jones.


The troupe also recognized graduating seniors and ended the banquet with a slideshow of pictures from throughout the year. New officers will be elected when the new school year starts.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *