News from USD 234



Monday, August 8, 2022


Members of the USD 234 Board of Education met at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, August 8, 2022, for their regular monthly meeting at the board office.


President Danny Brown opened the meeting.


The board approved the official agenda, and the consent agenda as follows:


  • Minutes from July 11, 2022, Board of Education Meeting (with modification) and minutes from July 25, 2022, Special Board of Education Meeting
  • Treasurer’s Report
  • Check Register
  • Payroll – July 20, 2022 – $1,289, 232.37
  • Activity Fund accounts
  • Audiology Contract with Greenbush
  • Low Incidence Contract with Greenbush


The board heard reports from FSKNEA, the Assistant Superintendent, and the Business Manager.  The board received a presentation of the budget and reviewed a copy of the District Needs Assessment.  Budget publications will also be posted to the district website.


The board approved the following items:

  • Superintendent Brown to proceed forward with negotiation and finalization of a MOU with the City of Fort Scott to expand the School Resource Officer program to include a second School Resource Officer.
  • Participation in the KDHE School Board Grant. The board heard from Ashley Hooper and Dan Duling with CHC regarding a KDHE grant to provide a school-based clinic that would provide access to a medical provider, additional nursing services, and mental health services for students and staff.  The planned site is the Fort Scott High School, but services would be available to all students.
  • COVID updated guidance for the upcoming school year
  • 2022-23 Employee Handbook
  • 2022-23 No Limits Contract for physical therapy services
  • 2022-23 Happy Kids Contract for preschool slots and classrooms
  • Middle school chiller replacement up to $200,000
  • Personnel Report – following
  • 2022-23 Negotiated Agreement as amended to reflect an increase to the base salary and agreed upon items
  • Recommended increases for Administrators, Directors, and Special Services personnel


The board went into an executive session for personnel matters, negotiations to discuss reopening the 2022-23 negotiations, and then into an executive session for personnel matters.  


President Danny Brown adjourned the meeting.







  • Lannette Wood – Resignation as FSHS paraprofessional, effective August 6, 2022
  • Norma Floyd – Resignation as Winfield Scott paraprofessional, effective July 25, 2022
  • Lacey Miles – Resignation as Winfield Scott cook, effective August 2, 2022
  • Angella Curran – Resignation as FSHS speech/debate/forensics teacher, effective August 15, 2022
  • Delynn Abati – Resignation as FSHS play assistant
  • Josh Hudiburg – Resignation as FSMS basketball coach


  • Instructional Coaches – Additional 10 days added to contract
  • Ashley Wilcox – Winfield Scott After-Care Program Coordinator
  • Adam Feagins – FSMS Intramural Coach for the first, second, and third nine-weeks
  • Shelly Sanborn – FSHS paraprofessional
  • Jannah Farrington – District Dynamic Learning Map (DLM) Coordinator
  • Marci Mix – Eugene Ware Building Test Coordinator
  • Tracy Homan – FSMS Building Test Coordinator
  • Josh Messer – FSHS Building Test Coordinator
  • Ashley Wilcox – Winfield Scott Professional Development Chair
  • Marci Mix – Eugene Ware Professional Development Chair
  • Angie Kemmerer – FSMS Professional Development Chair
  • Sara Jackman – FSHS Professional Development Chair
  • Gordon Harris – Reassignment from FSMS custodian to FSPC/Eugene Ware Custodian
  • Dylan Goucher – Reassignment from FSPC/Eugene Ware custodian to FSHS Custodian
  • Allen Davis – Reassignment from FSMS/BOE custodian to FSMS Custodian
  • Alisha Watkins – Reassignment from FSHS custodian to FSMS/BOE Custodian
  • Anthony Ogle – Assigned to FSMS custodian position
  • Dixie Jackson – Assigned to FSHS custodian position
  • Kenny Hudiburg – FSHS assistant girls’ tennis coach
  • Jered McKay – Reassignment from Eugene Ware focus room teacher to Winfield Scott focus room teacher
  • Anna Anderson – Reassignment from Eugene Ware paraprofessional to Eugene Ware focus room teacher
  • Megan Hull – Reassignment from Eugene Ware paraprofessional to speech paraprofessional
  • Siarra Willard – Eugene Ware paraprofessional
  • Tamra McReynolds – Eugene Ware paraprofessional
  • Sara Rood – Eugene Ware paraprofessional

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *