New COVID-19 Travel Quarantine List

KDHE amends travel quarantine list

TOPEKA – The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) has amended its travel quarantine list to include several countries – Mayotte, Czechia, San Marino, Montenegro and Seychelles.  The last changes to the travel quarantine list occurred Nov. 17. Kansas has continued to review state and country rates every two weeks; however, no locations have met the threshold for being added to the list until today. The five countries were added to the list due to the countries all having COVID-19 case rates three times Kansas’ numbers.

A comprehensive list of those individuals needing to quarantine includes visitors and Kansans who have:

  • Traveled on or after Feb. 26 to the countries of Mayotte, Czechia, San Marino, Montenegro or Seychelles.
  • Attendance at any out-of-state mass gatherings of 500 or more where individuals do not socially distance (6 feet) and wear a mask.
  • Been on a cruise ship or river cruise on or after March 15, 2020.

The travel quarantine period is seven days with a negative test result or 10 days without testing, with release from quarantine on Day 8 and Day 11, respectively. Further information on quarantine periods can be found on KDHE’s website.

For those traveling internationally, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is requiring testing within three days of flights into the U.S. For further information on this and other requirements, visit their web page.

“Kansas has seen lower case rates, which has prompted the addition of these five countries that have been experiencing higher case rates,” Dr. Lee Norman, KDHE Secretary, said. “As we start moving into spring, we continue to urge people to avoid travel. And, if you do travel, please take appropriate precautions such as mask wearing, social distancing and practicing good hygiene.”

For more information on COVID-19, please visit the KDHE website at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *