Local 5th-Grade Students Perform with Award-Winning Educator

From left: Lanie Jackson, Icysis Reeder, Michaela Morrell, Karlee Hereford, Jackson Montgomery, Lillian Jackson, Madi Davis, and Javon Steadman.Submitted photo.

Frontenac hosted the Southeast Kansas Music Educator’s Association Elementary Honor Choir on Saturday,
January 18, 2020.

Jason Sickel, 2017 Kansas Teacher of the Year, was the clinician for the 141-person choir.

Fifth-graders Lanie Jackson, Lillian Jackson, Jackson Montgomery, Icysis Reeder, Madi Davis, Karlee Hereford, Michaela Morrell, and Javon Steadman were nominated by Eugene Ware Elementary Music Educator MJ Harper to perform.

Students worked outside of class during the fall semester to prepare and memorize four pieces of music.


During the afternoon concert, Mary Jo Harper was awarded Outstanding Elementary Music Educator for Southeast Kansas Music Educators Association.

Mary Jo Harper. Submitted photo.

Contact: MJ Harper, 620-719-6633, mjharper@usd234.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *