Grants Awarded For Community Improvement Endeavors

USD 234 First Grade teachers were awarded a grant to allow students a chance to visit and learn about Fort Scott businesses. They are holding a photo-opportunity check which lists the amount handed out at the Fort Scott Area Community Foundation Grant Awards on Nov. 1. Stephanie Witt, president of the FSACF is far right in the photo.

The Fort Scott Area Community Foundation presented grant awards to 15 entities November 1 during the Chamber of Commerce weekly coffee, held at Landmark Bank.

Interest from money given the FSACF is distributed each year to 501 3C organizations, said Stephanie Witt, president of the foundation.

“This year, over $32,000 in grants is given out,” she told coffee attendees.

USD 234 received a grant for project-based learning in Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math programs that challenge middle and high school students to create and design elements to help the community. Angie Kemmerer, far left, heads the project.
Fort Scott High School’s tennis program will get a new backboard for the tennis courts with a grant from FSACF. Allison Gorman accepted the check.
USD 234 was awarded a grant for career exploration mentoring for students paired with community members. Lindsay Madison, left, accepted the grant award.
Eastern Kansas Adult Education at Fort Scott Community College was awarded a grant to provide scholarships for 20 high school dropouts to obtain their GED. Aubrey Duft, left, accepted the award.
USD 234 was awarded a grant to study empathy and share their findings with the community. Michelle Brittain accepted the from Witt and Greg Motley, a FSACF member.
Another USD 234 grant provided money for new Fort Scott High School band instruments. Aaron Shockley accepted the check.
Tri-Valley Developmental Services received a grant to purchase two new wheelchairs.
Care to Share received a grant to support cancer victims. Teresa Davenport, left, accepted the award.
The Lowell Milken Center for Unsung Heroes received a grant for interactive magnetic boards to educate children who visit the center. From left Norm Conard, Witt, Tina Rockhold and Motley.
Chad Cross accepted the Fort Scott Community College grant to make the Arnold Arena compliant with the American Disability Act regulations.
Christa Horn accepts a check for the Bourbon County CASA of the 6th Judicial Court.
Peggy Niles accepts a check for the Pioneer Harvest Fiesta, Inc. to allow repairs and upgrades at the Bourbon County Fairgrounds.
Fort Scott Convention and Visitors Bureau received a grant to provide a veteran’s celebration. Larry Gazaway and Allyson Turvey accepted the check.
Janet Tucker accepted a check for the “It’s My Very Own Bags of Love” project made available by the KS-NE Conference of Seventh Day Adventists.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *